Permanent Ties

I thought I was done.
I thought I’d been able to move past this thing, whatever it is.
I’m not sure what to do with these feelings, this attachment.
I’m not sure if I can resist this — resist you.
I don’t want to lose myself to the breaking again.

Will it always be like this?
Will there always be these permanent ties that refuse to fray and fall at our feet?
Will I always be bound to you so completely?
Will this time be different, or will we revert to our earlier roles?
Will this ever vanish, or are these emotions waiting, perfectly preserved beneath the surface?

I suspect that you’d have to leave me brutally and most completely in order to ever truly end things.

Standard

What are your thoughts?

